Gradual-i-t-y

17 08 2009

I ain’t never been a rushy kind… not even the pushy kind. Maybe the showy kind, just a lil bit… but mostly, just the kinda fella that loves to take things nice n slow.

When I was attempting to hit on a chic, this usually went the wrong way, coz they never could stand my patience… Most close friends of mine used to wonder whether I really wanted what it was that I was aiming at…. Always with the wry smile and the knowing look, coz see, truth is I always kinda knew what I wanted, that which comes from watchin’ n waitin’. Patiently.

I never ever really really bothered.. there were’nt no rush, right? I mean, come on, it would eventually work itself out. Not really, see. I always had a plan. Always have, always will.

I would always be a schemer… planning six moves ahead of the game, enjoying the chase and thirsting for the victory.

A calculating son-of-a-gun, A smoothe operator, a patient gentleman… tip of the hat, coat slung over the shoulder, quick kiss on the cheek for the lady, a subtle bow for the audience and a patient lazy stroll out the door, leavin all the haters n players with mouths hangin open wonderin who the heck this dude is. Remember the name!

I would always take my time when doing things my way, and make sure that things would work out as carefully as I had planned them… what is life if not an adventure? And you can choose to play it hard and fast. Me? I chose the long analytical route. Plan, execute, review. Worked wonders. For a while…

As I grew older, I tended to be more flexible and face the real situations…. I learned that nada is always as it seems and incorporated the lessons of PapaBasiks, and MamaBasiks, and Uncle Oscar who taught me that life ain’t set of equations, but an experiment in anarchy. That nothing went according to plan. Uncle Oscar, bless his pimp soul, taught me to have a plan B, an exit. An act for the final curtain call.

Add that to what I learned through sheer hard work, it allowed me to be even more patient in the drama called life, whose script writer always has a red pen, eraser and whiteout nearby. A messy job this.

When TheHotness bought me the Bible I asked her to in April last year, I took some special time to read some of my favorite chapters in the good book. Somebody hola at Ephesians, Ecclesiastes, and yes, Galatians…. QuotingTime “But if we hope for what we do not see, we wait for it with patience.” And check this out, “Not that I am speaking of being in need, for I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content.”

From then on out I struggled with finding each page to turn until TheHotness added my library with a personal favourite of mine called EverydayWithJC… Book got game, took me through some rough times and still keeps me patiently walking through the good book every other day.

This book is a pocket filler (in size) and is an ongoing tribute to the theory of graduality, and how we are blessed enough to accept that as much as patience delays, patience does pay!

So now that the words have been filled out and the story is still incomplete, you will actually notice that this is not another Basik outline like I usually drop ‘em… You know, Princess aka SeamlessNess, with a dope intro, a cheesy mid-section and a dope as hell lesson at the end…

This time the lesson in graduality is mine to learn…

I have recently been in the face of Basikness (forgive the over-usage, I am trying to hint at something here), and had to sit down with me’self and ask myself the tough queries… The ones that allow you to take a look at the yesterday and plan for the morrow, and sometimes, every once in a while, to just take a chill, forget life’s dramastikalness and live in the now.

My skills built in graduality are being put to the test, and wondering at all if the whole theory of planning and strategy are relevant… Feels like just sticking to your guns is more relevant! The wise man put it well in Ecclesiastes; For everything, there is a season, a time a purpose under heaven. That same wise man turned full circle and played out the “life is meaningless” lyric.

When you do something with utmost preps, and such careful precision, you are always waiting with bated breathe. Waiting for a chill out period when you can call TheHotness and let her know how that thing which you jazzed about last month has made progress, and when she smiles, you hear it in her voice…

Graduality is a sucker, and many times makes you want to have a special hotline to hola at God and ask him to speed things up a bit. Crazies thing, I actually have a number in my phone with like a million sevens in it and it’s labelled… “God”… for those moments that border between goofiness and insanity.

But when reality dawns on you and you’re hollering at the Big Man to make things go a wee bit faster, that’s when you realise… we are not the one to make that call are we?

hola at the SoloDawgKing for the mad skillz in this collabo


Actions

Information

19 responses

17 08 2009
spartakuss

ok these ones are for those cold rainy days that have just started in kampala. come in handy when teh basiks talks in code.

17 08 2009
nevender

Feels like am reading Ecclesiastes mixed with Psalms and bit of Ephesians, but all basikness.

Homie, been blessed by this.

17 08 2009
nevender

But who should make that call?

17 08 2009
Sleek

This is the rogue King and basikness at work…Dark Night had nothing to do with this. Jamas, this is tight tight stuff…deep, refreshing, like a sermon at certain points…Hi5!!

17 08 2009
Iwaya

A lot to ponder here….

17 08 2009
lulu

uhhhh…huh, i see you do the stroll with a bounce basiks! this is so kick-back-reminisce for me sorrta reading….i like

17 08 2009
lulu

oh btw, slow is gooooood nomatter how it can suck at times… i think if they are for you… it will work out and if not…they go, there are so many coats on the coat hanger…but seriously… i am a slow one…and i bleive in the principal of slow!

17 08 2009
Carsozy

I hear you dude, Graduality, yes it works for those who like the fine taste of good old wine, but there’s us beer dudes who want to slug back our tumblers, empty the contents and slam the glass on the counter for a refil, yeah that’s me dude, move in, take the money, move out.

17 08 2009
tumwijuke

I really, really like this post, B2B.

I’m glad you are learning from the wait. You are a much bigger (wo)man that I.

18 08 2009
Basics

Spartan
Code huh!
I know you hear me. Sorry about missing your do on Sunday. Was mixed up with being a big bro to my kid bro just joining Uni

Nev
Hmmmn
I hear you Nev…
Thanks for dropping by!

Nev
Well, sometimes if you ask HIM, he shows you when to make that call

Sleek
Tightness when you involve the SoloDawgKing!
He has mad skillz…

Iwaya
Hmmmn
I think so too

Lulu
I had a feeling you would like

Lulu
Patience does delay Lucee…
So, how is the lovely smile?

Carsozy
Dawg, i am on your sid, but slowly easing away into this side…
But i do click your plan….
When you start crossing over, nada can stop you!

Tumwi
Hehehehehe
Kudos for the props Tumwi…
Surprised me’self!
and you too
bigger wo(man) for the ladies you mean!

19 08 2009
Rhino

There is no time to waste! Life is short, shitty, bitchy and then you die! I am in a rush rush….gotta keep on moving!

19 08 2009
Sybella

deep! the best things are always worth the wait…

20 08 2009
Di

Love yo writing style. Patience is painful. Dnt like it.

21 08 2009
blujewel

Okay, so when is the meeting of our minds going to take place? This was an awesome post and one that really touched me. I so feel your words and can see myself in various part of your breakdowns.

Your Biblical faves are some of my own too. Add some Psalms and Proverbs and it’s on and popping.

Love to live; live to love!

21 08 2009
blujewel

Okay, so when is the meeting of our minds going to take place? This was an awesome post and one that really touched me. I so feel your words and can see myself in various part of your breakdowns. Did you reach into my head and steal some of my thoughts?

Your Biblical faves are some of my own too. Add some Psalms and Proverbs and it’s on and popping.

Love to live; live to love!

21 08 2009
Basics

Rhino
Sometimes, the wait MUST happen!

Sy
Deep huh!
Weird for you to hit the nail on the head like that!

Di
Much appreciation!
still on your case to drop a joint sooner rather than later!
and believe you me, no one likes waiting, but we all do coz…..
we have to!

BluJewel
how about i drop you an email soon, and we attempt to meet minds….
I think i did reach into your mind and steal your words Bluey!
all the way!

I wrote this post with Solomon King aka SoloDawgKing!
His joint—> http://rogueking.com

he is a dope writer too! coz he reads just as well i guess!
But thanks for dropping by as usual Bluey!
love2live: live2love indeed..

27 08 2009
Edsulah

Nice

28 08 2009
Miss Cheri

This post took me about 2 hours to read and fini…blame it on the boss. But it’s v good. These Rogue collabos are good…should get a rec deal.

B2B, I heard chics are about 2 steps ahead of u (dudes) so when u say 6 moves, I’m lost.

10 09 2009
Bill Bartmann_-

This site rocks!

Leave a Reply

