word~kept

20 07 2016

Struggles lately, hustles

Maintenance of my trust-levels…

You know that lady / guy friend of yours who always seems to be switched on and conversant with so many things going on in the world until you ask them to do something for you and they guarantee that they will do it only to see the deadline come and go… They usually are in your list of word-keepers. You know them, those colleagues/ friends of yours who have been reliable since time immemorial huh! The ones you can call on at short notice to first of all share a situation and thereafter create a handle on the situation to everybody’s relief.

Well, I used to be one of those people…

Not extremely trusted per se, but well more often than not I came and have consistently come through for those that not only requested but indeed needed some form of assistance. Lately though, I am starting to notice that many if not most of us consider ourselves good people.  We run the popular marathons, we contribute at weddings, and we tithe and generally try to do the right thing when we have the opportunity. Yet most good people also lie quite frequently.

How often, for example, have you lied in order to get out of a social request (“I’d love to come, but I’m busy that night”)?

How often have you lied, or asked your children or co-workers to lie on your behalf, when you get a phone call from someone you don’t want to talk to (“Tell them I’m not here!” or “I’d love to chat, but I’m late for a meeting”)?

How many couples regularly lie to each other for fear of hurting each other’s feelings or getting into a conflict (“I’m not mad; I’m just upset about work” or “Yeah, I’ll be home in a minute”)?

It seems to be really interesting just how far we can go for self-preservation!

I am not one to judge or even complain about it as what goes around may sooner or later come around, but just attempting to grapple at it with just one hand and not take it too personal.

I think I get it and allow me to extrapolate a little. (a big word finally hehehehe)

Keeping one’s word allows you to set your trust-able levels to be matched all the time by yourself and in the eyes of the asker, give a good level of confidence in you to do what you said you will do with no flinch in your mindset no matter the hesitation. However, and this is the crux (another big word hehehehe), maintaining high levels of trust are always a remedy for some form of tricky situation whereby your failure (even if minute to all levels) will be seen as a huge catastrophe yet you are above all else human!

So to manage this, incorporate the words;  maybe, maybe not, no, not this time, it seems to be looking tricky in your vocabulary to endeavour that you are still seen as human and not a full time closer that may cause you to have a clean streak of pluses and one negative that takes all those pluses back to zero….